A ‘No Excuses’ Mentality: Chore vs. Choice

Standard

I no longer believe that healthy living is something you do for a fixed amount of time in order to accomplish a goal, like weight loss. Now I know it’s a lifestyle commitment and the goal is to treat the body right.

We all know that it is important to exercise and eat right, but those simple facts are not enough to motivate many of us. Plenty of us make excuses as to why we can’t do something or why tomorrow is a better day to do it than today. I have struggled with this for quite a while. Does any of this sound familiar to you?

  • Exercise is boring.
  • It’s hard.
  • It hurts.
  • I’ll just have this one last cookie.
  • One piece of pie won’t kill me.
  • This health food doesn’t taste good.
  • I’m too tired to go to the gym.
  • There’s always tomorrow.

I’ve told myself all of these things. That was when I saw being healthy as a chore. Now I see being healthy as a choice. I choose to run, so I choose to deal with the pain that it brings. (I also choose to deal with the thrill it brings!) I choose not to eat a piece of pie or another cookie. I choose not to let being tired stop me from doing what I need to do to be healthier. I choose to do things today.

Getting started is the hardest part. Sometimes on my way to a run I do everything to talk myself out of taking the first step. I’ve found, though, that once I get started, the benefits greatly outweigh the negatives. So, to make it happen, I try to make fewer excuses.

Pushing yourself reaps great rewards, mainly the realization that, “I can’t,” was untrue. Instead, “I can” was true all along.

Get out there today and make it happen! And if I can’t convince you, maybe this video can:

Leave a Reply

